MSF announces new board of farmer directors

MSF announces new board of farmer directors

Mallee Sustainable Farming is pleased to announce that the 2021-2022 Board of Directors have now been filled. MSF welcomes Nicole Byrnes from New South Wales who has been appointed as a NSW Farmer Director and Therese McBeath from CSIRO appointed as a Specialist Director.

MSF is governed by a Board of up to 11 farmer and specialist Directors. The Board plays an important part in setting the strategic direction of Mallee Sustainable Farming with a vision to promote dynamic, profitable and sustainable farming systems across the low rainfall Mallee region.

We welcome Nicole Byrnes as NSW Farmer Director. Nicole and her husband Luke produce cereal crops, wool and lamb in the Pooncarie region of NSW. Nicole is passionate about agriculture and its vast opportunities, especially for the younger generation and women alike.

Therese McBeath will take on the role of Specialist Director. Therese is currently a Research Team Leader in the systems program at the Adelaide CSIRO Agriculture and Food Waite Institute. Therese specialises in soil science and crop nutrition and is excited by the diverse challenges and opportunities that farming the Mallee holds.

MSF’s 2021-2022 Farmer Directors are Robert Pocock (Chair) and Andrew Biele from South Australia; Gavin Howley (Vice-Chair) and Nicole Byrnes from New South Wales; Ron Hards and Chris Hunt (Treasurer) from Victoria.

Our newest Specialist Director, Therese McBeath, is still joined by Kenton Porker, Research Director with FAR Australia, who stays on as a Specialist Director for MSF.

MSF farewells NSW Farmer Director and former Executive Chair, Daniel Linklater, as well as Rick Llewellyn and Paula Gordon who finished their terms as Specialist Directors in October 2020 and February 2021 respectively. We thank Daniel, Rick and Paula for their incredible contributions to MSF.

MSF will be seeking new farmer Director nominations in the lead up to the October 2021 AGM as Robert Pocock, SA Farmer Director and Chair, as well as Ron Hards, Vic Farmer Director, will also finish their terms at MSF.

Robert Pocock, MSF Chair, said, “It’s been great giving back to the farming community and the Mallee by highlighting priorities and needs from the region and trying to access funding for research, development and extension.”

“It’s been a fantastic opportunity being part of the Board, not only the networking but also seeing the impact of MSF in the region. It has been really fulfilling working with great people and I encourage others with an interest to consider taking on a role to help continue to make a difference”.

For more information please contact MSF Executive Officer Lachlan Sutton, 0427 080 884 or

Robert Pocock, Chair; Andrew Biele; NSW Farmer Directors - Gavin Howley, Vice Chair & Nicole Byrnes; Victorian Farmers Directors - Ron Hards and Chris Hunt; Specialist Directors, Kenton Porker & Therese McBeath

SA Farmer Directors: Robert Pocock [Chair] and Andrew Biele; NSW Farmer Directors: Gavin Howley [Vice Chair] & Nicole Byrnes; Victorian Farmer Directors: Ron Hards & Chris Hunt; Specialist Directors; Kenton Porker & Therese McBeath