2020 Excellence in Agriculture Awards – APPLICATION DEADLINE EXTENDED

Nominations are closing soon for the 2020 Excellence in Agriculture Awards

The Agricultural Bureau of South Australia is still seeking nominations for its 2020 Spirit of Excellence in Agriculture Awards.

The awards provide unique opportunities and financial support to motivated and bright young farmers and rural youth who will benefit from personal and professional development to support a successful career in their chosen field.

Applications are currently open for:

  • The Sustainable Agriculture Scholarship sponsored by Department for Environment and Water (DEW) is an $8,000 grant for a farmer aged 18-40 to pursue further study, take a study tour or run a special project.
  • The Rural Youth Bursary sponsored by Department of Primary Industries and Regions SA (PIRSA) is a $5,000 grant for rural young people aged 18-30 working in a rural community to undertake further study in their chosen career with an ultimate benefit to their community.The 2019 Sustainable Agriculture Scholarship winner was Kangaroo Island sheep farmer Paul McGorman who used the funding to investigate and develop an innovative business model which encompasses environmental, economic and social sustainability practices to positively impact on climate change while also growing revenue for his business.The 2019 Rural Youth Bursary winner was Agricultural Science teacher Grace Sampson who used the funding to attend the National Ag Teachers Conference in January.

    Applications for the 2020 Spirit of Excellence in Agriculture Awards are open until 5pm on Tuesday 6 October 2020.

    The 2020 awards will be presented at the Agricultural Bureau of SA’s annual Spirit of Excellence Awards Dinner at the Arkaba Hotel on Friday 23 October 2020.

    To find out more and apply, visit www.agbureau.com.au/awards or call (08) 8249 7581.